Greenway Nashville

I believe that everyone should allow themselves a couple long walks a week in order to meditate on things going on in life.  I started doing this again a few days ago.  Nashville has a great system called the Greenway that allows people to walk around the entire city without having to compete with highways and traffic.  The system has pedestrian-wide paved trails that meander through some of the most beautiful natural spots the city has to offer.  It’s quiet most of the time and most spots follow along rivers and creeks that feed into the Cumberland.  I like it.

Today, I took some pictures along the way.  It really was a perfect day for a walk.  The sky was bright blue and the breeze kept the day from getting too hot.  I started along the Stones Creek area and walked through farmlands of cattle-filled rolling hills.  This scruffy guy needed the fresh air, the clean smell of the outside.

I ended up in a soccer park full of soccer fields and nets.  That with the smell of

Greenway Nashville

fresh cut grass took me back to the days when I used to play.  Two kids were on the field playing around, passing and shooting on each other.  Care-free young guys with so much to look forward to in their life.  I thought of Delaware and YMCA soccer, NCBA regional champs, and college pick-up games.

I turned around and headed back to the car, each scene a little different than before due to the sunlight sinking a bit further below the tree line.  Saw a bunch of butterflies and bumble bees competing for reign on tops of wildflowers, purple and yellow.  Saw a praying mantis on the old-wooden fence that lined the walkway.  Saw a kid I teach in homeroom skating down a great hill with two of his friends, headphones on their ears, oblivious to the natural beauty that surrounded them.  Saw families and little kids on bikes, memories of Delcastle and bike-tag in Klair Estates filled my mind.  Made it back to the car and drove away.

I do believe in getting away from it all as often as realistically possible.  It helps me to center  priorities and put things into perspective.  It gives me a chance to enjoy the free and simple things.  And it’s definitely good for the soul- scruff or no scruff.

Greenway Nashville